Place Kléber

The largest square in the center of Strasbourg is named after Jean-Baptiste Kléber. Kléber was a son of the city who fought as a general under Napoleon in Egypt. In 1800 he was murdered in Cairo. His greatest achievement was the victory of Heliopolis against the Ottomans. "Place Kleber" is located between the two shopping streets, Rue des Grandes Arcades and Rue des Francs-Bourgeois. In an attack on the 2018 Christmas market on Place Kléber, 5 people were killed by an Islamist terrorist and another person died of their injuries.


Place Kléber


Strasburg Cathedral

The Cathedral rises above the small-scale center of Strasbourg since 1439. Construction of the Cathedral started 1176. The North tower with a hight of 142 m, was the highest building of humanity until it was surpassed by St. Nikolai in Hamburg in 1874 with a hight of 147 m. The South tower was never completed, but serves as a observation deck with stunning views over the Alsace. The Strasbourg Cathedral is famous for the astronomical clock built 1353 and the fantastic glass windows of the rosette.


Place de la Cathédrale


Maison Kammerzell

The "Maison Kammerzell" is the most beautiful timberframe house of Strasbourg. Located on Cathedral Square, the home of a clothier enchants visitors since 1467. All wooden parts of the facade are decorated with wonderful carvings. Today the house is used as a restaurant and hotel.


16 Place de la Cathédrale


Palais Rohan

When the noble family Rohan from Brittany received the office of prince bishops of Strasbourg, they built the palace as residence in 1731. Architect of the baroque courtyard was Joseph Massol. Beautyful is the facade to the River Ill and the courtyard. Today the Palais Rohan is home to several museums.


Place du Château


La Petite France

"La Petite France" is an idyllic neighborhood with old half-timbered houses by the river. Many restaurants and nice squares make "La Petite France" the most charming district in the center of Strasbourg. The beauty of the quarter attracts many tourists. It can be very crowded in the narrow streets, espacialy in summer time.


Rue du Bain aus Plantes


Pont Couverts

The "Pont Couvert" (covered bridges), were part of the fortifications of the 14th century, of which three towers remained. The roofs have been dismantled in the 18th century, but the name "covered bridges" has still survived.


Pont Couverts


European Parliament

The "European Parliament" was founded in 1952 and is now the EU's legislative body with some 750 parliamentarians. The seat allocation is graduated according to the population of the member countries.


Rue Lucien Febvre


River L'Ill

The most convenient way to explore Strasbourg is by boat on the river Ill. The boats start at the Palais Rohan and circle around the city center. On the larger tour you will also pass by the European Parliament. Batorama offers various tours, prices and departures can be found on the website. 


Place du Marché aux Poissons


Eglise Saint Paul

The Protestant garrison church "Église Saint Paul" was built in 1898 by german architect Louis Muller. The neo-gothic church has two 76-meter-high spiers and is one of Strasbourg's most popular photo motifs, due to its prominent location on the Ill Sainte Hélène.


1 Place du Général Eisenhower


Bibliotheque Nationale de Strasbourg

The Strasbourg Library was planned in 1894 by the architects August Hartel and Skjøld Neckelmann, who had already built the Parliament of Elsass-Lothringen on the "Kaiserplatz" now called "Place de la Republique". The building in the style of historicism looks like the Reichstag in Berlin or the Federal Administrative Court in Leipzig. After the Second World War, the building became the "Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg".


6 Place de la République


Palais du Rhin

The "Palais du Rhin" was built in 1889 by architect Herman Eggert as "Imperial Palace" for the German Emperor Wilhelm I. However, he died in 1888 and was therefore initiated by his successor Wilhelm II. Herman Eggert was also the architect of the Frankfurt Central Station and the New Town Hall in Hanover. After the First World War, the French used the building as Commission Centrale pour la Navigation du Rhin, from which the name "Palais du Rhin" was born.


1-3 Place de la République


Theatre Nationale de Strasbourg

Today's "Theater Nationale de Strasbourg" was built in 1892 as the provincial parliament of the German Province of "Elsass-Lothringen". The architects August Hartel and Skjøld Neckelmann designed the Classicist building. Under the National Socialists Party of Adolf Hitler, the parliament was rebuilt and became a theater. After the Second World War, the damaged structure was restored by the French and is used as the National Theater of Strasbourg.


1 Avenue de la Marseillaise


Strasbourg Central Station

The station of Strasbourg was built in 1883 according to the plans of the Berlin architect Johann Eduard Jacobsthal, who had previously built the station Alexanderplatz. The new transit station replaced the old terminus station built by France. Strasbourg became German again in 1871 and the station was the Emperor's first prestige project in Alsace. In 2007, the station was extended by a glass porch by Jean-Marie Duthilleul. The currently fastest train connection between Frankfurt and Strasbourg takes about 1h51. The trip to Paris takes around 1h45. On foot it will take about in 15 minutes in the center of Strasbourg, but you can also use the tram. For more information about the tram system hit the link below of CTS "Compagnie des Transports Strasbourgeois".


Place De La Gare


Map Straßburg sights


Travel Guide Strasbourg

Welcome to Strasbourg

The city in Alsace is only separated from Germany by the Rhine river. In the long history of Alsace, the city moved between Germany and France several times. With 275,000 inhabitants, Strasbourg is the biggest city of the Alsace. The city is internationally important because of the European Parliament. The highlights of a city tour include the "Strasbourg Cathedral", "La Petite France" and a boat trip on the L'Ill.