The "Branitz Park" was created by the famous "Prince Pückler" from 1846 onwards. Trenches were lifted, trees and shrubs were planted, and the famous water pyramid was erected, with the graves of "Prince Pückler-Muskau" and his wife Lucie. Within sight, there is a second pyramid, the so-called "land pyramid", which serves as a point of view over the Branitz gardens.
The "Goethe Park" is located on an island in the river Spree, close to the Old Town of Cottbus. In the park there is the "Amtsteich" lake with a large fontaine and the art museum in an old power plant. To the north there is the old electric power station. A bridge leads to "Carl-Blechen-Park" on the other side of the river Spree.
One of the most beautiful landscape parks in Germany is on the border to Poland. The wonderful "Pücklerpark" in Bad Muskau is on the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites since 2004. The park was created between 1815 and 1844 by "Herman Fürst von Pückler-Muskau" as a landscape park.
After the Second World War, the border between Poland and Germany was shifted to the rivers Oder and Neisse to the west. Since then the border runs through the Park of Bad Muskau. Since the abolition of the internal borders in the EU, you can experience the park as a whole and walk freely over the bridges and borders.
From Bad Muskau about 10 km to the west, in the municipality of Gablenz is the famous "Rhododendronpark Kromlau". The park was modeled after the Muskauerpark by Friedrich Hermann Rötschke. In addition to the largest rhododendron garden in Germany, the park has other sights, such as the "Rakotz Bridge", towering basalt stones in the lake and statues. The park also includes the "Cavaliers House" and the "Herrenhaus" on the Halbendorfer Straße.
The "Spreewald" is a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve and one of the main tourist attractions in Brandenburg. The center of the "Spreewald" is Lübbenau, from here boat trips start to "Lehde", a small village with beautiful houses and cultivated gardens along the canals. You can rent canoes and explore the "Spreewald" yourself. Lübben (castle) and Burg (storks) are also worth a visit.
After most of the open pit mines were closed, the wounds in the nature began to be repaired. The mines are flooded and transforme the Lausitz into a lake district. All former open pit mines are filled with water by 2021. The "Großräschener See" (photo of 2016) will be flooded in 2017.
The "Senftenberger See" is already flooded and is used as a lake for sailing. From 1938 to 1966 coal was cut out in an open pit. After the mining the pit was flooded starting in 1967. Within the International Building Exhibition "IBA Fürst-Pückler-Land" a city harbor was built in Senftenberg.